I bought myself a present!

I’m going on a trip this weekend, a mini-retreat of sorts. I have all sorts of things planned: catching up on art journaling, meditation, writing up class proposals so I can teach stuff, napping, maybe a bit of hiking. Did I mention napping?

So packing the essentials is easy. Clothes, toiletries, some snacks. But what books to take? What art supplies? I know some people will look at that and shake their heads, but there are others who will get it. I want to take alot of books with me, just in case I need them. I have three full days to do as I please, what if I really need some eye candy from one of my faves?

I’m laughing a bit at myself as I write this, (maybe I should delete that part?) but I’m going to leave it. We’re going by car, so I’ll happily overpack and enjoy myself.

Oh. The present? You might have guessed. It’s a book…Joanne Sharpe’s The Art of Whimsical Lettering. I love this quote from the introduction:

“Look at your own writing and you’ll see that it has a distinct look; it shows your personality. Your handwriting is your identity; it is as much a part of who you area as your voice, your laugh and your walk. It’s how you show yourself to the world and how you respond to the universe in visual form.”

Here’s to happy experiments!

4 thoughts on “I bought myself a present!”

  1. I most definitely overpack. I travel with my daughter for her dancing, and she always asks with a look of trepidition, “Are you taking all your art bags” The answer is “Yes, why wouldn’t I”? She responds, “You won’t be gone long” With which I say, “Yes, but I never know what I might need, this way I am fully prepared” So 3 big honking bags of Art stuff get hauled around the Southern region of the US. I say bring what makes you feel complete. You’ll relax much better that way. Enjoy your mini vacay!!! (((HUGS))) Kimmie

    1. This is excellent, Kimmie! I sent out a request to some of my FB groups, half in jest, to help me pack. We arty folks are a bunch of happy overpackers. Good for us, I say!

Leave a comment